| News

Jim Ward – of At The Drive In/Sparta – new album

JIM WARD: Brand new album and bonus disc – ‘Quiet In the Valley, On the Shores the End Begins’

Bringing together his critically acclaimed EP trilogy, Xtra Mile Recordings’ new signing Jim Ward announces details of his brand new album ‘Quiet In The Valley, On The Shores The End Begins’ – out 22nd August 2011.

Five years in the making, the complete trilogy creates a full-length album of his EPs ‘Quiet’ (2007), ‘In The Valley, On The Shores’ (2009 and 2011’s ‘The End Begins’. Recorded and produced by good friend and band mate Gabe Gonzalez in their own Clap of Thunder studio in their hometown of El Paso, Texas, it shows Ward’s talent for songwriting and class musicianship. The 14 track album holds an intricate instrumental, a heartfelt love song, a seven-minute narrative, and a sincere “thank you” to his long-standing fans as well as many other beautifully constructed acoustic folk music. It also includes lead track ‘Broken Songs’ – a stunning track featuring the stylish and poignant vocals of Tegan Quinn from acclaimed duo Tegan and Sarah.
The album is packaged with an incredible bonus CD of fantastically reworked electric versions of six of the tracks – the perfect stepping stone from Ward’s work in Sparta and Sleepercar.
The full tracklisting is:

1. On My Way Back Home
2. Take It Back
3. Mystery Talks
4. Coastlines
5. Easier Said Than Done
6. All That We Lost
7. Broken Songs
8. My Town
9. The Newest One
10. This Love Has Gone Away
11. Lake Travis
12. Waves In Spanish
13. Decades
14. The Beginning Of The End

Bonus CD – electric versions
1. Take It Back
2. Mystery Talks
3. Coastlines
4. Broken Songs
5. My Town
6. Decades

Ward will be touring in the UK and throughout Europe later on this year – more information on dates to follow.

It’s been quite a journey for Jim Ward. His musical career started in 1994 when he formed a band with his friend Cedric Bixler – that band was seminal post-hardcore band At The Drive-in. In the seven years they were together, they spearheaded a brand new genre of punk/hardcore and amassed worldwide fame and success. After they disbanded he went on to front Sparta and Sleepercar before settling into his solo work. In a career that has taken him all round the world, Ward’s driving work ethic and strong DIY attitude has propelled his creative output forward; continuously making music and touring the country with nothing more than his voice, an acoustic guitar and his true punk ideals. Never one to forget his roots, he has not only set up their own recording studio but opened a local bar with his wife and friends, and set up Tembloroso.com – an online shop he helped create to highlight El Paso’s local artists and musicians.

Ward’s contribution to music is far-reaching, spanning three decades and stretching across the world; and with this new chapter just about to unfold – his long legacy continues.


Comments are closed.

Our weekly newsletter

Sign up to get updates on articles, interviews and events.