| Sound

Video Exclusive : Sleepy Sun – Galaxy Punk

An amazing video from our favourite

Sleepy Sun

Video Exclusive : Sleepy Sun – Galaxy Punk

From “Maui Tears” available now on Dine Alone Records: smarturl.it/mauitears

Directed by Gerson Aguerri




Latest News: 

Sleepy Sun are set to brace our UK shores, once more with a 5 date headline tour this April.

UK Dates:

14/4/2014 Brighton, The Hope

15/4/2014 London, Corsica Studios

16/4/2014 Manchester, Deaf Institute

17/4/2014 Glasgow, Broadcast

18/4/2014 Sheffield, Detestival

The dates will be the bands first UK shows since 2012 and will be in support of their 4th studio album, through Dine Alone Records, released on March 17th 2014. ‘Maui Tears’ is the bands first studio album since 2012’s critically acclaimed ‘Spine Hits’

‘Maui Tears’ takes you on a spaced-out psych-rock journey from the moment album opener and lead single ‘The Lane’ kicks in to its hypnotic guitar laden and eerie vocals, to the anthemic melancholy  ‘Words’ and the dreamy opus that is ‘Everywhere Waltz’. The Flaming Lips esque ‘Galaxy Punk’ and the heavy-guitar crunching ’11:32’ shows a band that are at the height of their creative abilities and cements, that Sleepy Sun drink from the same well of invention as their peers The Verve, The Brian Jonestown Massacre and The Velvet Underground

Sleepy Sun formed as Mania in 2005 at UC Santa Cruz but turned away from their garage rock styling’s and developed a more psychedelic approach to song writing. The band changed their name to Sleepy Sun in 2007, releasing their first album ‘Embrace’ in 2009. Since then the bands creative output has been more than consistent releasing a further 2 albums (2010’s ‘Fever’ and 2012’s ‘Spine Hits’) over the next 2 years

Over the years Sleepy Sun have developed a steady fan base with their unique style of psych-rock which is fused together by the dovetailed fuzz riffage of guitarists Matt Holliman and Evan Reiss, the blessed pipes of vocalist Bret Constantino that are alternately bristle with attitude and drowsy ease and the seamless collision of fluid science drawn up by the rhythm section of Brian Tice and Jack Allen

The band have toured with the Arctic Monkeys and collaborated with the British trip-hop legends UNKLE.



Sleepy Sun are Bret Constantino (Vocals), Matt Holliman (Guitars), Evan Reiss (Guitars), Jack Allen (Bass), Brian Tice (Drums)



One Reply to “Video Exclusive : Sleepy Sun – Galaxy Punk”

  1. Carl says:

    An awesome live band, not to be missed.

Our weekly newsletter

Sign up to get updates on articles, interviews and events.